A dip into Asian food…

Ciao everyone,

today I want to share with you an incredible trip I took last summer: I went to Việt Nam (this is the correct way of writing it)!
It was a fantastic experience, even though I was a bit skeptical at first, as I didn’t know what to expect, but I ended up totally lovin’ it! So I hugely recommend you take a trip to the country of Saigon (or Ho Chi Minh City) and Hoi An, sooner or later.

Apart from the amazing landscapes, the nice people and some curious differences from what we’re used to see, one of the things I loved most about Vietnam is food, of course!

My boyfriend and I took a mini-cruise to Halong Bay (google it to see how stunning this place is!) and one night they taught us how to make…

Vietnamese fresh spring rolls

IMG_20150614_131147

INGREDIENTS:

  • rice paper
  • the vegetables you want
  • rice noodles
  • shrimps or meat

HOW TO PROCEED:

first of all you have to damp your rice paper. You can do this either by dipping the paper into water for just 1 second or (as we were shown during the mini-course) you can use a wet towel where you’ll put your rice paper and press it with your hands. Carefully, it’s fragile.

Then you start filling it with your ingredients, put the noodles first in a corner, then anything else you want to add. It’s better to give structure to your rolls, adding for example carrot or  celery. In mine I put salad, steamed shrimps and steamed zucchini:

IMG_20150614_130127

Then it’s time to roll. You have to proceed this way it’s easier if I show you:

If you want, you can deep-fry them and they’ll be even more yummy! Less healthy but still…

And these are the ones we had in Việt Nam:

 

Hope you liked this new recipe…

Enjoy!

The Curly

2 thoughts on “A dip into Asian food…

Leave a comment

